Intersections

Thinking about starting a new quilt so I went through my scrapbook of quilts I might like to make and decided Intersections by Cheryl Malkowski (Hoffman Timeless Treasures – free pattern) would work well with the green scrap bag I purchased from Keepsake Quilting some time ago. Here’s the picture of her finished quilt:

Intersections

It’s constructed as an 8 x 10 block quilt – with a finished quilt size of 68″ X 85″ – too big for me to handle. I’d like a finished size of no more than 48″ x 64″. The basic block is this:

block1

They get assembled in groups of 4 to form a pinwheel at the center

block2

I have 12 fabrics to work with (9″ x 44″) – I need a quilt constructed from 6 x 8 blocks – to give me complete pinwheels – so how large does each block have to be to fit within my dimensions?

Turns out 7″ finished blocks will work – so I need to cut from each fabric:

  • 4 blocks – 4″ x 7 1/2″
  • 8 blocks – 2 1/4″ x 7 1/2″

I did a sample to see how it would work (these are scrap fabrics not fabrics from the set of greens):

IMG_2122

This let me know my dimensions will work – BUT – I will have to more meticulous in my piecing because the finished block should be a 14 1/2″ square – and this one isn’t quite!

The assembled blocks will be 42″ x 56″ – which will allow me to add a 2 3/4″ border around the outside to make the final dimensions: 48″ x 62″. A good lap quilt size.

I also played around with some ideas for quilting the finished quilt – I think I may go with this one for each block:

quilting

This will give me an overall design for each of the finished 14″ x 14″ blocks which I will be able to do in my grand dream hoop. I don’t have a longarm quilter, I quilt in the hoop of my embroidery machine.

[Interested in the Mathematics of this quilt? Click here for the description embellished with the math involved!]

